GloPoWriMo: Day 20

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 20

The Day 20 prompt was to write a poem that incorporates the vocabulary and imagery of a specific sport or game.  The poem could invoke chess or baseball, hopscotch or canasta, Monopoly or jai alai etc.  I have written a poem with cricket terms (though it isn’t at all about cricket!) as I grew up watching cricket and was scorer for my Dad’s team for a season.

*

Cricket Bat

The night is silent
Almost
Day is over
The moon shines
Like a maiden fair
Over bales of hay
The only sounds
Are the chirping of crickets
And the swoop of bats’ wings
I run towards the wicket
On my garden’s boundary
My legs before wicket
I jump over the four
Pronged fence into the
Pitch black of my garden
And run inside as
I have been out very late
Smoothing the creases
From my white
Dress as I run inside
He jumps
You knocked me for six
He says, hands raised in the air
I raise a single finger and reply
You’re not my keeper

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

Leave a Reply

