GloPoWriMo: Day 16

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 16

The Day 16 prompt was to write a poem inspired by the act of letter-writing.  The poem could be in the form of a letter to a person, place, or thing, or in the form of a back-and-forth correspondence.

*

*

*

*

An Affair to Forget

Dear Steve

I wanted to say how sorry I was
And I knew you’d never see me
After everything I’ve done

Some friends said I should put it in a letter
Hopefully you can find it in your heart to read it
All the way through

I am truly sorry for all the pain I’ve caused
All the hurt I’ve brought to you and the children
All the trouble

It all just got out of hand
I never meant for it to start in the first place
Never mind end in this way
With so many people hurt

No-one was more surprised than me
When she arrived at my door suitcases in hand
For months my friends had been telling me she’d never leave you
They all say that

Of course I felt guilty
But I was enjoying the affair
I’m sorry

When she stood in my doorway
With everything she owned piled around her
I knew then that I didn’t love her
That I’d never loved her at all

Steve please I’m begging you
Please, please fight for her
Take her back
Please

Your friend

Jonathan

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

Leave a Reply

