GloPoWriMo: Day 15

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 15

The Day 15 prompt was to write a poem that reflects on the nature of being in the middle of something.  The poem could be about being on a journey and stopping for a break, or the gap between something half-done and all-done.  Half a loaf is supposedly better than none, but what’s the difference between half of a very large loaf and all of a very small one?  I have written a poem about the novel I’m working on, particularly focusing on what can happen when you’re a writer like me who doesn’t meticulously plan everything that’s going to happen.

Mid Write Crisis

Two weeks ago, exactly
I was working on my novel
I’ve reached that point now
Where the initial excitement
And fervour has disappeared
And now it’s that push
To tie up the loose ends of the story
And begin that painful process
Of letting it marinate for a while
Then re-reading every single word
With a critical eye
And polishing it up
Into something worthwhile

When my antagonist
Started kicking off
About being made
To do horrible things

I’m not a bad guy really
I’m really not
I don’t want to be this person
My brother, that guy’s an arse
But I can be a better person
I want to be a better person
Why are you making me do such horrible things?

And now, my novel
Half done
Half finished
Halfway there
Has been turned on its head
Everything needs to change
Before that painful process
Of letting it marinate for a while
Then re-reading every single word
With a critical eye
And polishing it up
Into something worthwhile

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

Leave a Reply

