GloPoWriMo: Day 13

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 13

So this is a day late, because the prompt went up late and yesterday was insanely busy so never had a chance to look at it.  I’ll post the actual one for today later.  The Day 13 prompt was to write a ghazal.  The form was originally developed in Arabic and Persian poetry, but has become increasingly used in English, after being popularised by poets including Agha Shahid Ali.  A ghazal is formed of couplets, each of which is its own complete statement.  Both lines of the first couplet end with the same phrase or word, and that end phrase or word is also repeated at the end of each couplet.  I could also attempt to incorporate internal rhymes and a reference to my own name in the final couplet.  I have written a ghazal about fireflies, because I’ve been wanting to write a poem about them for a while.  The first line is true and I managed to get the reference to my name in at the end.

Fireflies

When I was a child I read a book about matches played with by fireflies
I remembered it when he left and I stared at the night sparkling with fireflies

The stars were sparkling in the inky blue enveloping the world around me
They seemed so still and endless when compared with moving fireflies

I got the ice cream out of the freezer not because I wanted it or was hungry
But because that’s what you’re supposed to do, not stare at shimmering fireflies

I sat staring out the window, the dairy filled tub wet in my now cold hands
Until the sun came up and they were all gone, not one, no more fireflies

And then I forgot all out him, because I am what I am, a lady of the day
And mourning for something that never was is for the night, like fireflies

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

Leave a Reply

