GloPoWriMo: Day 12

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 12

The Day 12 prompt was to write a poem that explicitly incorporates alliteration (the use of repeated consonant sounds) and assonance (the use of repeated vowel sounds).  This didn’t mean necessarily limiting myself to a few consonants or vowels, although I could. Even relatively restrained alliteration and assonance can help tighten a poem, with the sounds reinforcing the sense. I have written a drunken poem and I think the alliteration and assonance enhance the drunkeness resembling slurring speech, staggering and going off on tangents!

 

Alcoholic Frolic

I went for a walk
Wavering, wiggling
Wandering aimlessly
After drinking a lot
And having a talk

With friends and foes
About their woes
And the ends
Of their toes
Finally finishing
Fresh flavoured wine

I staggered outside
Staring up at the stars
Stepping towards home
Where I can sleep and hide
Slipping into bed

But what’s this in the sky
A spaceship hits my eye
And lands in front of my
Very person, oh my
I hope they’re friendly
And I don’t die
Maybe if I offer them pie

I went for a walk
Wavering, wiggling
Wandering aimlessly
After drinking a lot

I may have seen aliens
Even left on their ship
If you want to see them too
Here have a sip
But you have to promise
To keep your mouth zip

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

Leave a Reply

