GloPoWriMo: Day 11

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 11

The Day 11 prompt was to write a Bop.  The invention of poet Afaa Michael Weaver, the Bop is a kind of combination sonnet and song.  Like a Shakespearean sonnet, it introduces, discusses, and then solves (or fails to solve) a problem.  Like a song, it relies on refrains and repetition.  In the basic Bop poem, a six-line stanza introduces the problem, and is followed by a one-line refrain. The next, eight-line stanza discusses and develops the problem, and is again followed by the one-line refrain. Then, another six-line stanza resolves or concludes the problem, and is again followed by the refrain.  My poem features a problem familiar to many people – albeit maybe not literally – being stuck in a small dark place with nowhere to turn.

The End?

I woke up in the blackest darkness
Felt myself bumping along
Tried to sit up and smashed my head
On a ceiling so close, far too close
To be safe in my bedroom
Safe and sound inside my house

This can’t be the end, can it?

I notice I can’t move in any direction
Another bump and I realise I am moving
I must be inside a vehicle, in the boot of a car!
Then I remember when they turned up at the house
Menacing, threatening, saying they would deal with me
Now once and for all. This was going to end
One way or another. They grabbed me, then darkness
Oh God, they’re going to kill me!

This can’t be the end, can it?

I glance over what I have written and sigh
It’s tending towards melodramatic and predictable
Don’t comfort me, it’s what you were thinking
Maybe I wasn’t meant to write thrillers
Maybe I wasn’t meant to be a writer at all
I select every word and hit the delete key

This can’t be the end, can it?

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

Leave a Reply

