GloPoWriMo: Day 9

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 9

TRIGGER WARNING Please note that this post, contains information about self harm which may be triggering.

The Day 9 prompt was to write a nine-line poem.  Shakespeare’s favourite, the fourteen-line sonnet is often considered the “baseline” form of verse in English.  Recently my niece had to learn one of William’s and recite it in class, showing how vital it is still considered as an element of an education in literature.  However, Sir Edmund Spenser wrote The Faerie Queene using a nine-line form of his own devising, and poetry in other languages, particularly French, has always taken advantage of nine-line forms. Further information about writing in the nine line form is available here.  However I haven’t followed any particular form.  Instead I have written this which is (vaguely) inspired by a character in the book I am reading at the moment.  I still have about 500 pages to go before I find out if this guy has a happy ending, though I don’t think it’s going to happen.  But mental illness has become a taboo that people don’t talk about often enough or openly enough.  I hope this does the feeling of battling with yourself and hiding that battle from society justice.

Piano Keys

Behind a mask I always hide
They say I need to open up but I
Show my emotion through piano keys

Through piano keys my emotion shows
A tiny peek behind the mask for all
I need the keys to open up my thoughts
Through the keys my emotions are unlocked

Without the keys I only open up
My veins

 

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

Leave a Reply

