GloPoWriMo: Day 7

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 7

The Day 7 prompt was to write a poem about luck and fortuitousness.  Inspiration included Charles Simic’s “The Betrothal” and Stephen Dunn’s “The Arm”. First of all I needed to create the following lists:

1. List 1 – 3 random objects. (Smaller tends to be better.)
2. List 1 – 3 random but specific locations. (Think in the cookie jar, or under my seat…)
3. List 1 – 2 objects you’ve lost and a few notes on their back-story.
4. List 1- 2 objects you’ve found and few notes on their back-story.

Then I needed to choose an object from List 1, a location from List 2, and connect them in a poem with ideas from Lists 3 & 4.  Here are my lists:

Random objects:
1.   Teacup
2.   Penny
3.   Candle

Random locations:
1.   In front of the kitchen sink
2.   In the wardrobe
3.   The fireplace

Things I’ve lost:
1.  Stories I wrote as a child – I’ve been writing almost as long as I can remember and wish I had those first scribblings
2.   Books – So many people have borrowed my books and not returned them, I don’t lend them out any more

Things I’ve found:
1.   A colleague’s wedding ring – I noticed a glint on the office floor.  It was his wedding ring and it had been squashed flat!
2.   A stranger’s bank card on the bus – She was on her way to buy her kids’ school uniforms so was very grateful I saw it

And somehow out of these lists came this little story, which is sort of about good luck!

 

The Teacup in the Fireplace

The teacup in the fireplace
In my great aunt’s house
Is almost hidden from view
By books
My great aunt’s house is full of books
So many books
My house
It’s my house now
She left it to me
Much to the disgust of everyone
I love books
I’ve written my own stories since I was a small child
I wish I had those first scribblings
I wish I had finished something
Maybe even had it published
Had a book
With my own name on
To put amongst the many books
In my great aunt’s house
She told me once that so many people
Had borrowed her books
And never returned them
That she didn’t lend them out any more
She didn’t let anyone in any more
To be here
With her
And her books
She just stayed alone
Drinking tea out of
The teacup in the fireplace
I see a glint on the floor
It’s my great aunt’s wedding ring
It must have fallen off
When she left
That last time
It has been squashed flat
Broken
Ruined
Like my great aunt
I walk over to the fireplace
The teacup in the fireplace
Is chipped
And coated in fine cracks
Like my great aunt
I hold the delicate china
And let it drop
It’s bad luck to hold onto negativity
And that cup was filled with it
I turn away from the fireplace
And throw the windows and door open
Letting the world come in
Letting the sunlight wander
Amongst the many books
In my great aunt’s house

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

