GloPoWriMo: Day 5

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 5

The Day 5 prompt was to write a poem in honour of Mary Oliver’s work.  The poem should be based in the natural world, about a particular plant, animal, or a particular landscape. It should be about a slice of the natural world that I have personally experienced and I have experienced often. The poem should incorporate specific details and also state why I find the chosen place or plant/animal meaningful.  My poem may have wandered slightly away from what was intended by the prompt, but I think the term “slice of the natural world” has dragged me down a different path.  Nevertheless, I have mentioned the moors of Yorkshire (where I was born) and the river of Liverpool (where I now live), which are two natural (mostly) landscapes for the price of one!

 

Nature Sliced

Green hills
As far as the eyes can see
Sprinkled with purple heather
Sweet food for the buzzing bee

Cold waters
Flowing into the sea
A ferry floats on yonder
Where would you rather be?

The hills call to me
Where I was born
The river sings to me
A sound forlorn

As you can see
My life is to be
Torn
Torn, torn, torn

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

