GloPoWriMo: Day 3

Standard
GloPoWriMo: Day 3

The Day 3 prompt was to write an elegy – a poem that mourns or honours someone passed away or something gone by.  The elegy should be centred on an unusual fact about the person or thing being mourned as these types of details paradoxically breathe life into an elegy, making the mourned person real for the reader.  This poem is dedicated to my friend Jonathan who sadly passed away after an accident shortly after Christmas.  Ten years on and I still think of the life he wanted and never got to live.  Rest in peace.

***

Abseiling Down Glass Buildings

When the window cleaners
On their ropes outside
Abseil down glass windows
I remember you

I remember you laughing
Because my boss didn’t trust you
To frank his mail
And I had to do it myself

I remember your kind words
When my boss reduced me to tears
After my entire world had fallen apart
And he couldn’t care less

I remember your smile
Your laugh
Your ink stained fingers
And your dreams of being a stuntman

I remember you getting a new job
Abseiling down glass windows
Almost a stuntman

You never did get to start that job
Abseiling down glass windows
You walked home that night
I will never forgive drunken drivers
I will never again drink a mojito
Without seeing your face

You were 21

When the window cleaners
On their ropes outside
Abseil down glass windows
I remember you

Copyright, D M Day, 2017

glopo2017button1

Leave a Reply

