The Great Lolly Ice Debate

Standard
The Great Lolly Ice Debate

Being from Yorkshire and living in Liverpool has its challenges. Like sometimes people don’t understand a word I say. I say hole it sounds like oil, I say water it sounds like watter, coat sounds like court and coke sounds like cork. But generally they’re all pretty nice about it. Except when I say ice lolly. Apparently, that’s just wrong.

Now this particular story actually begins when I was still living in Leeds. Me and my Scouse boyfriend were spending a lovely sunny day in Haworth home of Yorkshire’s very own Fab Four the Brontes – I can hear people exclaiming that there were three sisters, but there was also their brother, Branwell, who was a little bit more rock and roll than his literary siblings, even at one point having an affair with his very own Mrs Robinson. Anyway, I’ll stop going off on a tangent. We were walking through the park we saw an ice cream van. I can’t eat ice cream, because I’m lactose intolerant so my boyfriend pointed at the van and asked “Do you want a lolly ice?”

Did I want a what now?

I laughed at him, told him it was called an ice lolly and inadvertently became an active participant in the Great Ice Lolly Debate.

My boyfriend’s argument was that you don’t say pop lolly, it’s lollipop. But I don’t see what that really has to do with it, because lollipops aren’t made of pop. Ice lollies are made of ice. I mentioned this to a friend of mine who looked at me very seriously and told me in Nottingham they call lollipops “suckers”. What now? Has the world gone mad?

He did agree that frozen ones are ice lollies though.

After that I pretty much forgot about it and just laughed at my boyfriend whenever frozen treats came up. Until I moved here and I learned that this isn’t just a Yorkie/Scouse culture clash thing. This is a real debate and it’s one which (apparently) is being argued about all over Liverpool.

I’ve heard arguments that it’s a matter of Northern pride, “Southerners say ice lolly”. Now that may be true, but I promise you we say ice lolly in Yorkshire, and we are not southerners. And my Nottingham friend says ice lolly, and while they’re more south than we are, pretty sure they’re not quite southerners either.

There’s the grammar argument in that ice can be a verb, a noun or an adjective but lolly can only be a noun. And then there’s my personal favourite, the ice cream argument. “If it’s lolly ice, that makes it cream ice, which is wrong”. Yes, yes it is. Cream cake is right, cream ice is wrong.

Then there’s, “that is just how you say it, end of”, from people on both sides of the debate.

Anyway, this is all giving me a headache of the non-brain freeze variety and summer still seems to be coming and going on pretty much an hourly basis. But on those days when we’ve had blue skies and sunshine, I’ve been sticking with my dairy free ice cream. It’s safer.

Copyright D M Day, 2016

Leave a Reply

