NaPoWriMo – Day 29

Standard
NaPoWriMo – Day 29

The day 29 prompt was inspired by the work of poet and artist Joe Brainard who is probably best remembered for his book-length poem/memoir, I Remember.  The book consists of a series of statements, all beginning with the phrase “I remember” including:

I remember the only time I ever saw my mother cry. I was eating apricot pie.

I remember how much I cried seeing South Pacific (the movie) three times.

I remember how good a glass of water can taste after a dish of ice cream.

The specific, sometimes mundane and sometimes zany details of the things Brainard remembers build up over the course of the book, until the reader has a good deal of empathy and sympathy for this somewhat odd person that they feel they’ve really got to know.  The prompt was to write a poem based on things I remember focussing on specific details, rather than whether the memories were of important events, or connected to each other. I could adopt Brainard’s uniform habit of starting every line with “I remember,” and then either cut out all the instances of “I remember”, or leave them all in, or leave just a few in.  I decided to focus my poem on my memories of fantasy and science fiction, and how this has affected my view of the real world.

I remember

I remember the Little Mermaid
A life underwater among ship wrecks and sea witches
I remember Darth Vader
Parental revelations in a galaxy far far away
I remember Alice
Down the rabbit hole into a world of weirdness
I remember Captain Picard
Speeding through the stars faster than light
I remember Frankenstein
What had he let his curiosity lead him to do
I remember Dorothy
Whose happiness was back where she had started
I remember Marty
Who didn’t need a road to visit the 1950s
I remember Kitty Norville
All started after a slip of the tongue on talk radio
I remember Ned Stark
Losing his head over honour
I remember Frodo Baggins
On the most precious quest of all
I remember wanting to live in another world
One where life wasn’t so boring and mundane
I remember the realisation one day
As I watched the news
That the world I live in is dark and full of terrors

Copyright D M Day 2016

 napo2016button2

More information about NaPoWriMo can be found at http://www.napowrimo.net/

2 responses »

    • Thank you. Only just realised when you said this that there are actually ten references. It was not intentional! 😊 Also seven of the characters I was referring to the book versions, though I suppose they also all exist in TV or film, except Kitty Norville. I don’t think she does. Please let me know if you do try it. Would love to see your version!

Leave a Reply

