NaPoWriMo – Day 24

Standard
NaPoWriMo – Day 24

The day 24 prompt was to write a “mix-and-match” poem in which I mingled fancy vocabulary with distinctly un-fancy words.  First I needed to write a list of overly poetic words – words that I thought just sound too high-flown to really be used by anyone in everyday speech. Then I needed to write a list of words that I might use or hear every day, but which seem too boring or quotidian to be in a poem. Then mix and match examples from both lists into a single poem hopefully ending up with a poem that makes the everyday seem poetic, and which keeps my poetic language grounded.  While I was writing the lists, my brain started responding in a similar way to which I do when freewriting, and I’ve ended up creating a character who is slightly prone to melodrama…

The Artist’s Lunch Meeting

Indubitably she was happy to show off her embroidery at lunch
But still, such a rendezvous had left her in a quandary
Though her quintessential picture was the subject of much adoration
It was reasonable that she was quick to feel palpitations
Such suffering was wondrous in its depth
She sipped her coffee at breakfast and revelled
In a tremulous inferno of wild mental anguish
Such raptures did have the tendency to make one feel really quite
Quite tired

Copyright D M Day 2016

 napo2016button2

More information about NaPoWriMo can be found at http://www.napowrimo.net/

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

