NaPoWriMo – Day 18

Standard
NaPoWriMo – Day 18

The day 18 prompt was to write a poem that incorporates “the sound of home”.  I had to think back to my childhood, and the figures of speech and particular ways of talking that the people around me used, and which I may not hear anymore.  Some of my favourite writers, including Irvine Welsh, Alice Walker, Charles Dickens and Andrea Levy, use dialect in their writing, and it has been a technique that I have considered using in the past, and have experimented with to varying degrees of success.  But, every writing teacher and every writing workbook has the same advice about writing in dialect.  Do not do it.  It’s difficult for readers to understand, it turns your characters into cartoons, it’s unnecessary and distracting.  Now, I’m from Yorkshire, and my natural accent is very strong, apparently.  The dialect I use has often been described to me as another language by people from other regions.  So this was a very interesting prompt for me, and opened the door wide open to write a poem completely in my Yorkshire tongue.  Those who have difficulty understanding it, may benefit from reading out loud, something which helped me when reading The Color Purple and Trainspotting.

Come have a Brew

Ey up
Put wood in’t oil
Sit thissen darn

How’s tha bin?
Will have a brew
An a nice chat
Bout owt and nowt

Slice a cake?
Tha want cheese wi’ it?

How’s yer Mam?
And yer Dad?
We’re all keepin’ well ta

By eck ya ear that wind?
Dowt get that darn sarf da ya?
Nah

Breks me art to think o’ ya theya
Wish ya’d come see me
Just fer half an ‘our
Just fer a brew

Ah
Tek care then
Sithee

Copyright D M Day 2016

 napo2016button2

More information about NaPoWriMo can be found at http://www.napowrimo.net/

Leave a Reply

