NaPoWriMo – Day 11

Standard
NaPoWriMo – Day 11

The day eleven prompt was to write a poem in which I closely described an object or place, ending with a more abstract line that doesn’t seemingly have anything to do with that object or place, but which, of course, really does. The prompt was inspired by James Wright’s poem Lying in a Hammock at William Duffy’s Farm in Pine Island, Minnesota.  I decided to focus my poem on my office, and use all five senses to give depth to my description of the environment.

The Office

Strip lighting and computers
Blue carpet tiles and floor to ceiling glass
There’s the sound of tapping
Ringing phones
Identical greetings
The faint smell of polish
Is covered by coffee
Ah coffee
My hands wrap around the hot cup
The freezing wait on the platform forgotten
The rich flavour hits my tongue
And I wake up
I could have been so much more than this

Copyright D M Day 2016

napo2016button2

More information about NaPoWriMo can be found at http://www.napowrimo.net/

Leave a Reply

