NaPoWriMo – Day 8

Standard
NaPoWriMo – Day 8

The day eight prompt was to write a poem about a flower.  I have written a poem about a flower before – The Dandelion.  As shown in this poem I tend to like more unconventional flowers and so I decided to stick with the wildflower theme for this poem.  I also decided to go with another springtime flower, given it’s spring right now and the British weather is being typically British – with blue skies and sunshine one minute, and violent downpours the next!  Hopefully though, given the daffodils are in full bloom, it’s a sign that summer is on it’s merry way.

The Daffodil

Spring has sprung
And I appear
Bright yellow
Shining in the sun

Like a trumpet
For the fairies
Shining yellow
As bright as I can get

I am a sign
Of things to come
Sunshine yellow
Days that are fine

But for now it’s spring
And I stand proud and tall
Shining bright yellow
Listen to the birds sing

Copyright D M Day 2016

napo2016button2

More information about NaPoWriMo can be found at http://www.napowrimo.net/

Leave a Reply

