NaPoWriMo – Day 2

Standard
NaPoWriMo – Day 2

 

The day two prompt was to write a poem in the form of a family portrait.  I don’t much like posed photographs as a rule.  I prefer natural photographs, taken of people who haven’t noticed the camera.  I think it captures the reality more.  As for family portraits, I tend to think of the stereotypical perfect family: Mum, Dad and children all smiling.  Thinking about this it struck me that I don’t know many people who grew up in the stereotypical perfect family.  But a family portrait is a posed photograph, a constructed reality, something to show other people that you’re perfect.  It doesn’t show the reality.  And on that note, here is my poem.

My Family Portrait

When I was a little girl
Hung upon my best friend’s wall
In the family living room
Was their family portrait

Sitting next to her sister
Both smiling
Bright and innocent

Her father’s hand on her shoulder
Stood tall and proud
He was a judge, or a doctor, or something

Her mother next to him
Holding their baby brother
Brightly smiling

All together
All smiling
It was a far cry from the reality
It was a lie really

When I was a little girl
Hung upon my wall
In the family living room
Was a photograph of me and Mum
And hidden in the drawer
In my bedroom
Was a photograph of me and Dad

I wished I had a happy family
In one house full of noise
We may have fought and cried
But we would have been together

I wished I had a family home
One house full of noise
With a family portrait
Upon the living room wall

I took the photographs
I took my scissors
I cut out my family
And stuck them back down

All together
All smiling
A far cry from the reality
A lie really
But a beautiful lie

Copyright D M Day 2016

napo2016button2

More information about NaPoWriMo can be found at http://www.napowrimo.net/

Leave a Reply

