NaPoWriMo – Day 1

Standard
NaPoWriMo – Day 1

It’s National Poetry Writing Month.  Hurrah!

I figure this is a good way to get me back to writing regularly as a few recent setbacks have made me all grumpy and all my lovely notebooks have been neglected.  This is bad and will not do!

The day one prompt was to write a lune, an English-language poem similar to a haiku. While the haiku is a three-line poem with a 5-7-5 syllable count, the lune is a three-line poem with a 5-3-5 syllable count. There’s also a variant based on word-count, instead of syllable count, where the poem still has three lines, but the first line has five words, the second line has three words, and the third line has five words again..

Now those who know my writing well will know don’t write haikus, and in general, I don’t count syllables.  The reasons for these are twofold.  Firstly, I think it affects my creativity and secondly, I can’t count to save my life!  So I scrapped the syllable bit, and counted the words.  So here is my poem, each stanza being written in the form of a (sort of) lune.

A Pet for a Lune

I would like a dog
A fluffy pomsky
Or a little cairn terrier

But I have a job
A daily grind
No puppies in the office

The dog would be lonely
And very sad
So I’m not allowed one

Oh what can I do?
Perhaps a cat
But they make me sneeze

Copyright D M Day 2016

More information about NaPoWriMo can be found at http://www.napowrimo.net/

Leave a Reply

