New Year, New Promises

Standard

New Year’s Resolutions are the promises that are meant to be broken, so last year I made the vaguest most ridiculous one ever, and somehow, through sheer dumb luck, I actually managed it.  2014 was the year I was going to change everything.  I’m typing this in the flat I moved into in March, having finished for the day in the job I started in September, with my boyfriend of nine months sat in the next room, significantly less financial worry and different coloured hair.  So I actually didn’t do too bad at the old resolution thing for 2014.  But the promise was vague.  Vague is good.  Vague is easy.  2015 is going to be hard, because there’s an actual list.  2015 is going to be hard because I don’t make lists, or plans, ever.  I spend hours creating people whose fate I don’t know until it’s happened, but I think, after reaching that grand milestone of 30 last year, it’s time I took control of my own a little bit more.

So, here’s the list, in the 21st century format of a carving in stone, the inescapable internet record:

  1. Finish novel
  2. Start last year of degree in October
  3. Be more reliable at posting on blog
  4. Most importantly, create the perfect dairy free cheesecake

It’s going to be a long hard battle, probably lasting from around 365 days or thereabouts, but hopefully, fingers crossed, I’ll have a nice, financially viable, inoffensive cheesecake to help me along the way!

Nothing worth doing is easy.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

